Dataw Island Club Champions - Dataw Island
View Article
Current ArticlesArchive
« Back Post Date: Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Dataw Island Club Champions
After a tough-fought battle, Chris Jones emerged as the men's winner and Sue Zankowski

Dataw Island Club Championship

In a tough-fought battle to Hole #18, Chris Jones and John Franklin duked it out this past weekend, with Jones securing the win to earn the title of Men's Club Champion. Jones, one of our newest Country Club members, first played Dataw Island this summer as part of the South Carolina Golf Association State Am, and fell in love with the course he now calls home. 

The ladies also saw some tough competition with the top flight playing through Hole #14, but returning champion Sue Zankowski emerged once again as the Ladies' Club Champion. In 9-Hole play, newcomer Susan Sheppard prevailed.

Also of note, our Men's Senior Champion is Jim Fargher, and Don Kemper secured his title of Super Senior Champion. With this win, Kemper completed his "hat trick" having now won the title of all three: Men's Club Champion, Men's Senior Champion, and now Men's Super Senior Champion.

Congratulate to ALL of this year's competitors for a fantastic weekend full of great golf!

Men's Club Championship

Championship Flight:
Winner (Dataw Island Club Champion) - Chris Jones
Runner Up - John Franklin

Mickelson Flight:
1st - Doug McGowan

Fazio Flight:
Winner (Fazio Club Champion) - Jeff Foshee
Runner Up - John Dardzinski

2nd Flight:
Winner - Tom Sayre 
Runner Up - Bob Tweardy 

3rd Flight:
Winner - John Zankowski 
Runner Up - Gary Schmidt 

Hills Flight:
1st - Steve Ethier 
2nd - Chuck Schweitzer 
Tie Mike Barba 

Nicklaus Flight:
Winner (Dataw Island Senior Club Champion) - Jim Fargher
Runner Up - Jim Drew 

2nd Flight:
Winner - Joe Wetzel 
Runner Up - Dave Didier

3rd Flight:
Winner - Bo Tobin
Runner Up - Johnny Nielsen

Norman Flight:
1st - George Cheatham
Tie Ken Kohanski
Larry Lance
John Wells

Hogan Flight:
Winner (Dataw Island Legacy Club Champion) - Don Kemper
Runner Up - Tom Hurley

2nd Flight -
Winner - Dick Nalwasky
Runner Up - Paul Kyne

Snead Flight:
1st - Bob Carter
2nd - Colin Collins

2018 Ladies' Club Championship

18-Hole Ladies Club Championship

Championship Flight:
Winner (Dataw Island Club Champion) - Sue Zankowski
Runner Up - Kate Travers 

Bell Flight:
1st - Paula Wexler
Tie Dutchy Lewis

Thompson Flights:
1st Flight:
1st - Diane Laughlin
2nd - Mary Ann Foutch

2nd Flight:
1st - Wanda Elmore
2nd - Pam Didier 

3rd Flight:
1st - Mary Ann Voegtle
2nd - Judy Raynor

4th Flight:
1st - Joyce Dufresne
2nd - Bev Cox

9-Hole Ladies Club Championship

Championship Flight:
1st (Dataw Island 9-Hole Club Champion) - Susan Sheppard 
2nd - Charlotte Hurley

2nd Flight:
1st - Jennifer Ruiter
2nd - Peggy Hubright

60º F / 42º F

Dataw Island Club121 Dataw Drive Beaufort SC 29920(843) 838-3838

Powered by Clubessential